PDA

View Full Version : Issue with my Car.

Arron
30-01-2012, 08:41 PM
Hi guys,

I got my first car last week. Great drive, but I discovered a problem. You see I'm not really good with cars so before you lot start giving my grief, please understand that my knowledge is slim.

I bought a Peugeot 106 from a private seller (mobile mechanic) last week, it looked good, drove well, mileage was short and it was the ideal car for me. I didn't check the oil, and as it turns out, I had no oil in my engine. I think this explains why I spent £50 in petrol in my first week of having the car. Yesterday I put oil in so happy days. BUT, a family friend said that because I have been driving with no oil in my car, my car will begin to die, in basic terms, in the next few days. Is this true? How serious is it that I've been driving with no oil?

Thanks for reading and please reply if you can help me.

Tinker
30-01-2012, 09:21 PM
I asked a person on habbo who has worked with cars and she says if you had no oil at all your car would probably die on you and you'dbe left sitting on the side of the road and she also said that the engine would definitely have made obvious noises with the (idk wat she said something starting with a P) scratching against the cylinders and that you probably had some fuel left. She also advices you make sure you have oil in or you might have to go for a new engine refit:Owould probably cost alot more than refueling your car (:

Hope this helps

xo

Robbie
30-01-2012, 09:48 PM
I think this explains why I spent £50 in petrol in my first week of having the car.

welcome to the world of driving

Metric1
30-01-2012, 10:14 PM
If your car had no oil in it, it would have died by now. There must have been enough oil to lubricate it enough to keep it from completely seizing. Sure it's not good for your engine but if it was going to die it would have died by now or at least the CEL would have came on and it would have started throwing codes.